MootNZX – Scott.Technology

Source: MootNZX – Scott.Technology


I just returned MoodleMoot New Zealand 2016 – or MootNZX as it as also known. This MoodleMoot, held in Whangarei on the North Island, celebrated the 10th year of HRDNZ’s 10th year as a Moodle Partner. Stuart Mealor and HRDNZ has been a great friend and supporter of Moodle in New Zealand and it was great to come here and celebrate with them.

The last MoodleMoot in New Zealand, held in Nelson in 2014, was my first MoodleMoot. And I’ve seen a lot of familiar faces here today from two years ago. It was been great to catch up with my Kiwi Moodler friends. I hung out with Narissa of the Toi-Ohomai Institute of Technology, and I had some great discussions about competencies with Tabitha.

One of the highlights for me personally has been catching up with Justin Hunt, the Poodll Guy. I met Justin at MoodleMoot Japan 2015, and it’s just been great to talk about old times. In his presentation, Justin actually included a photo of the MAJ’s Martin Dougiamas Lookalike Contest – with me there! I’ll have to get a copy off him. Justin ran a Moodle Developer Workshop that I managed to participate in for the most part. It was so much fun and brought back so many good times, I was thinking about submitting a proposal for MoodleMoot Japan in February. But I’m still just toying with the idea.

Other highlights included catching up with Catalyst people, and finding out the dates for a Mahara Hui in NZ in April that I might just have to come back to New Zealand to attend. Again, we’ll have to keep looking at the schedule and the budget, but I do enjoy traveling to New Zealand, and I’d love to do more work with Mahara.

But after two weeks of conferences, it’s time to settle back to helping our Pukunui clients, like training in Brisbane later this month or Sydney next month. And preparing for Mini iMoot on November 4th!

I also recommend you read Kristina DC Hoeppner’s excellent wrap up of Community Day.

Leave a Reply

